• Report:  #2097

Complaint Review: Pellet Stoves & Spas - Oregon City Oregon

Reported By:
- Portland, OR,

Pellet Stoves & Spas
21553 S. Hwy 213 Oregon City, 97045 Oregon, U.S.A.
Tell us has your experience with this business or person been good? What's this?
Here is what I faxed to the Pellet Stove& Spas,

It has been a long 5 months of dealing with this s**t.. But No-More! Thank you for taking the time to read this and possibly maybe giving me some ideas on how to get our money back.

Dear Norma:

This letter is to notify you of our intent to see a satisfactory solution to the problems we have faced with your company since November 1999 in regards to the Quest Plus Whitfield Stove that we purchased through you.

You did furnish us with a replacement stove for the original Quest Plus which was installed in October, 1999 and the replacement took place in February 2000. Although we have been having on going problems with the replacement stove, you have still failed in your task as a Whitfield distributor to satisfy us as customers and remedy the situation at hand.

Your company has had ample time to remedy this situation and we have cooperated with you in all regards in order to come to a satisfactory resolution. This Thursday we are opening our home to Dean from Whitfield so the stove may be inspected as it stands currently. However, you should know that we are aware that you as distributors are responsible for remedying this situation, and need no prior authorization from Whitfield to do so. THis has been told to us on two seperate occasions via Whitfield themselves.

Our confidence has been dashed, not only by your inability to remedy this problem in a timely, mutally advantageous manner, but also in your company's inability to speak frankly and honestly to us as customer. Some examples of this include:claming that Dean is the only Whitfield representative able to remedy our present situation by stating that "all the other technicians are new." (par Terry on 4/4/00); stating that you, Norma, would personally call us and then when we hear nothing from you or anyone else at work, calling and bein told that you indeed were not there. However, later in conversation today (para Norma 4/18/00) that you were not only on the premises at the time of our phone call, but actually present during it, stating that you got so upset that you had to leave work early that day; Also, stating that a board was stolen (par Kelly 3/17/00)to try in our stove, but then (par Terry 4/13/00) stating that kelly was told to try the new board; Being told in several conversations that nothing was done to the previous stove,which now sits in your shop and is apparently running fine there,but on 3 separate occasions, (3/9/00,4/12/00&4/18/00) we were told that the starter had been rewired before the stove would work, Norma also stated to me in our conversation of (4/18/00)that the "ignitor (i.e.starter) has nothing to do with how a stove runs",which conflicts information given to us by Kelly and Terry (par Kelly 2/18/00,and par Terry 2/18/00)that at times a faulty starter can take energy from the board so that the electronic board malfunctions.

In the past several weeks, focus hasd turned on Kelly, your employee wh has serviced our stove under the Warrenty. Apparently your finger is now pointing at his inability to work on stoves and relay information to you via your normal channels. I was asked to send a copy of all our notes showing what exactly had been done by Kelly to the previous stove and this current one. I am sure that you understand we chose not to fax you a copy of our notes, given the present unprofessional atmosphere between us in this ordeal.

I can list more girpes and complaints, but the long and short of it is this: We have patiently worked with you for the past 5 months to remedy this situationand feel we have been more than patient and cooperative with your company even going to the extreme of asking you several times for a commitment one way or the other for a timely resolution, which you have been unwilling to give. We would like for you to come and remove the stove, regardless of what the appointment with Dean shows on Thursday, and cap off the pipe, returningto us the material costs of the stove ($1,695),pipe($300,and pad($160) for a total refund of $2,155. It is our intent that if the stove is not removed within 10 days of receopt of this fax, that we will file a notice against you in small claims court and include in that law suit the labor/install costs we paid, the differences in our heating bills, professional repair of the roof,ceilingand carpeting,court costs and any lost or missed wages due to your inability to perform service at the times and dates arranged in advance between both parties.

Should this issue also not be resolved at that time, we intend to file complaints with the BBB and also seek comsumers attentio to be focused on your operation and inability to provide solutions to customers problems. You were happy to take our money, which we paid in cash at the time of purchase, in Octorber 1999.Considering that you have been able to draw 5 months of interst on our payment, it is my hope that you would see the benefits to yourself and your company in responding to us, in writing, within the said 10 day period accepting our offer to settle out of court.

Reports & Rebuttal
Respond to this report!
Also a victim?
Repair Your Reputation!